March 21, 2009

Itty Bitty Baby’s Beginning

Posted in Itty Bitty Baby News tagged at 1:38 am by bk2nocal

This blog is about my experience with mothering a preemie.  Our baby M was born on February 19, 2009 and she was due April 12, 2009.  She was one month old yesterday.  I went in on February 18 for a routine OB visit, and although I had been on blood pressure medication for two weeks, my blood pressure was still high.  In addition, when my Dr. hooked me up to the heart rate monitor for the baby for a prolonged period of time, there seemed to be a number of dips in the baby’s heartrate.  He first spoke of having me go to the hospital for some monitoring the following day, but upon further review of the heartrate and my blood pressure, he decided to send me to the hospital immediately.  They checked me in, hooked me up to the monitor for the baby’s heart rate and continued to monitor…the heartrate continued to have major dips and when my Dr. came back to check on me, he decided that I should go to a hospital about two hours away that had a NICU, because it was likely the baby was going to come early.  So, I flew on a helicopter to the other hospital, got checked in there and was told I could be there for two weeks as they didn’t want to take the baby any earlier than necessary.  The next day, an ultrasound was done and there was continued heartrate monitoring throughout the day and when the Dr. (a different Dr.) came in, he said that it was looking like they were going to need to take the baby ASAP.

So, I was given an emergency C-Section that night and M was born at 3 pounds 2.5 ounces, 16 inches.  She was in the NICU for three weeks and I was in the hospital for four days.  I had high blood pressure (from my preeclampsia, which is why M was early and small), but with medication, it came down quite a bit.  M did extremely well for her size – she was never on breathing apparatus, had a slight case of jaundice and “tanned” on a bili blanket for two and half days, began eating from a bottle (with no breathing or swallowing issues) at about 2 weeks old, and passed her carseat test on the first go-round.   She came home a week ago at 3.9 pounds!

She is definitely doing well.  Our first pediatrician appointment was the beginning of this week and she already weighed in at 4 pounds 5 ounces and she looked good according to the doctor.  She is eating like a champ and we have another weigh in three days from now and I am hoping she is continuing to gain weight.  My husband and I are sharing the responsibility, with me sleeping from 11 or midnight until 5 or 6 a.m. and him sleeping from 4 or 5 a.m. to 10 or 11 a.m.

Although it is exhausting, having her at home is SO much easier than the three weeks she was in the hospital.  So, it isn’t as bad as it was.  And we’re adjusting pretty well to the crazy hours.  Luckily we were already people who kept late hours and didn’t get a ton of sleep every night.  This is just an adjustment.

The one thing that is rough is not being able to take her out to places with us.  Because her immune system is a little weak still, we can’t take her to stores or the mall or around people who may come into contact with people or be sick themselves.  So, we’ve been pretty sequestered.  But, we go out individually and today we took her out in her stroller, which she seemed to enjoy (sleeping quite soundly the whole time).

I hope that following M’s progress will provide others with some idea of what to expect, but also give us a place to record milestones, information about parenting (esp. parenting preemies), and fun stuff.  I hope you will enjoy it too!

Leave a Reply

